Updated 10/14/2020

The Champions League group stage draw was held on the 1st of October of 2020, in Geneve, Switzerland. The competition starts on the 20th of October and the final is predicted to happen on the 29th of May 2021, in Istambul.

There are 32 teams in the competition, divided into 8 groups. In each of the groups, there are the champions of the national leagues of the top-seeded countries: England, Germany, Italy, France, Spain, and Russia.

Plus, the current Champions League holder, Bayern Munich, and the Europa League winner, Sevilla. Since Bayern Munich is also the German champion, the following country in the UEFA ranks got their Champion drafted to pot 1: Portugal.

After the group stage, the top 2 teams of each group go to the knockout stage. The first round has 16 teams, the second has 8, the following has 4, until the final with 2 teams.

The final of the Champions League will be held in 2021 in Turkey, in the Ataturk Stadium on the 29th of May. The winner will play the UEFA SuperCup 2021, in the Windsor Park (Belfast, Northern Ireland), against the Europa League winner.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, most games will be played under closed doors.

Here is the line up of the groups of the 2020/21 edition. Click here for a brief on what to expect from this year’s competition.

Here are the current 8 groups of the Champions League group stage.

Group A

Bayern are the current winners of the Champions League and the favorites in Group A. Diego Simeone’s Atletico with Luis Suarez upfront being close seconds.

RB Salzburg will challenge the duo, with Patson Daka being the one to watch. Lokomotiv is mostly like the one to drop out of the competitions.

Group B

Real Madrid has won the competition 12 times and is the favorite in Group B. Inter Milan, guided by Antonio Conte, will likely be the runner up.

An intense battle will go on for the 3rd place, as Shakhtar Donetsk is more experienced than Borussia Monchengladbach, but the Germans have some interesting individual talent.

Group C

Manchester City is the strongest team in group C, but must be aware of some possible bumps on the road. FC Porto, Liga NOS table champions, should come second if they show the consistent form from last season post-lockdown.

Marseille should grasp the Europa League place, although Olympiakos is a competent enough team to challenge the Ligue 1 side for the 3rd place.

Group D

The Premier League champions Liverpool are ranking 1st in the odds to win Group D. Ajax and Atalanta should challenge for the second place, although the Italians have enough attacking threat to overcome the Dutch.

Finally, Midtjylland is on its first appearance in the competition, so don’t expect any surprises besides a last place in the group.

Group E

Chelsea might be favored in the odds to win this group, but Sevilla has more experience to take the edging curve on this one. The Europa League winners will want to prove they are ready for this competition.

Rennes is making their first appearance in the competition, but they should be capable of securing a 3rd place finish. Krasnodar is the most likely to end at the bottom.

Group F

Group G

If COVID-19 permits, we will see Ronaldo and Messi going head to head in this group. Juventus and Barcelona are going through in this group, unless there is a major upset.

Dynamo Kyiv should get the Europa League place and Ferencvaros should be lucky enough to grab a point or two.

Group H

Champions League 2019/20

This is what happened on the Champions League Group Stage of last season (2019/20).

Matchday One – Groups E, F, G, H
Matchday One – Groups A, B, C, D

Matchday Two – Groups A, B, C, D
Matchday Two – Groups E, F, G, H

Matchday Three – Groups A, B, C, D
Matchday Three – Groups, E, F, G, H

Matchday Four – Groups E, F, G, H
Matchday Four – Groups A, B, C, D

Matchday Five – Groups A, B, C, D
Matchday Five – Groups E, F, G, H

Matchday Six

Following the group stage, the 2 first placed teams of each group were qualified for a knockout tournament. In this stage, teams face each other in a two fixture match, home and away.

The winner qualified to the quarter-finals, on the road to Istambul. Here are the fixtures of the UEFA Champions League round of 16:

COVID-19 and special August Champions League knockouts

Following the interruption on the football calendar due to the Coronavirus pandemic, UEFA decided to finish this season in August. The quarter finals, semifinals and final will be one leg matches, happening in Lisbon.

You can check how the competition will unfold here: https://www.soccerantenna.com/champions-league/how-will-the-champions-league-knockout-stage-happen

Below is the complete Champions League bracket. The teams who haven’t completed their round of 16 games will do so in their own turf, as scheduled before.

If you have missed, here are the groups for this season’s Champions League and their final standings:

Update: 8/18/2020

Lyon and Manchester City eliminated Juventus and Real Madrid, respectively. In the game between both teams on the quarter-finals, Lyon defeated Manchester City 3×1.

Dembele and Cornet scored for Lyon, while De Bruyne noted the goal for the Citizens.

Meanwhile, Barcelona and Bayern confirmed their advantage and faced each other in the quarterfinals. A result of 8×2, with 2 goals from Thomas Muller, 2 from Philippe Coutinho, 1 from Lewandowski, Gnabry, Perisic, and Kimmich made Bayern Munich book a place in the semifinals.

They won all games so far in the competition: an all time record.

RB Leipzig defeated Atletico Madrid 2×1 (Olmo and Tyler Adams scored for Leipzig, Joao Felix for Atletico). PSG defeated Atalanta with two late goals from Marquinhos and Choupo Mouting, despite the Italians scoring first through Pasalic.

Semifinals booked for 18 and 19 of August:

PSG x Leipzig
Bayern Munich x Lyon

Bayern Munich went on to win the competition, with a 1×0 victory over Paris Saint-Germain in the final, in Lisbon. Check out our review of the final here.

Which is the team with more titles in the competition?

Currently, Real Madrid is the team with most Champions League titles in history, having conquered it 13 times. They are followed by AC Milan with 7 and Liverpool and Bayern Munich, who have 6 each.

UEFA Champions League winners
UEFA Champions League winners since the first European Cup edition in 1956.

The last time a winner from outside the top 4 leagues won the competition was in 2004, with FC Porto. Spain had two champions, Real Madrid and Barcelona, Germany 3 champions, Bayern, Dortmund, and Hamburg.

Meanwhile, England had the most number of champions: Manchester United, Liverpool, Aston Villa, Nottingham Forest, and Chelsea. Italy had 3: AC Milan, Internazionale, and Juventus.

Also, the Netherlands had 3 champions, with Ajax winning it 4 times. Feyenoord and PSV Eindhoven also won it one time each. Portugal had two champions: Benfica and FC Porto.

France only had one champion and it was Marseille in 1993 (who was kicked out of the following edition due to accusations of corruption). Scotland, Romania and the Former Republic of Yugoslavia (now Serbia) won it once each.

Who is the Champions League top scorer?

Do not forget to check who is the current top scorer of the competition too. Do you know Cristiano Ronaldo is the player with the most goals in the competition?

Top UEFA Champions League scorers (excluding qualifying)

127: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR, Manchester United, Real Madrid, Juventus)
113: Lionel Messi (ARG, Barcelona)
71: Raรบl Gonzรกlez (ESP, Real Madrid, Schalke)
64: Karim Benzema (FRA, Lyon, Real Madrid)
56: Ruud van Nistelrooy (NED, PSV Eindhoven, Manchester United, Real Madrid)

SoccerAntenna.com is a product of FortisMedia.com. Click here to know more about SEO strategy for Sports and Casino Websites.

Also if you are a football freelancer enthusiast write for us if you want to contribute to our blog.