The MLS 2019 consists of 24 teams, divided into two conferences: western and eastern.

In this table, all the teams are together though, ranked through the one with most points, to the one with fewer points.

MLS playoff brackets

The current MLS table above refers to the regular season that ended on the 6th of October. The competition then turns into a playoff, with knockout matches between the teams. Here is the current bracket:

MLS bracket final
MLS bracket, updated 30-10-2019

The MLS playoffs kick off on the 19th of October 2019. The winners of each conference during the regular season advance to the semifinals directly.

The history of MLS

The rise of NASL and its fall

The Major Soccer League was founded in 1993, but it was not the first league of soccer in the United States. Between 1968 and 1984 there was the NASL, the North American Soccer League. It got wide popularity throughout the 70s, especially due to attracting major faces of the European and South American sport.

With teams such as the New York Cosmos, the Chicago Sting and the Las Vegas Quicksilver, the league was built in a franchise like a format, the same as MLB, NFL and NBA.

During this time some of the names that played in the league were legendary back then: Pele, Eusebio, Beckenbauer, George Best, Teofilo Cubillas, Hugo Sanchez, Cruyff, you name it. If you want to see some more of the names connected to NASL golden era read here.

However, due to the lack of knowledge about managing soccer teams and lots of doubtful decisions, the league started going bankrupt in the early 80s. In 1984 they decided to give up and the NASL became just a memory from the past.

How the World Cup made the MLS a reality

As expected, many soccer fans in the USA were extremely unhappy with the sudden decision of taking away the NASL. The games had a regular audience of approximately 13 million and were very popular especially between the emigrants, specifically the Hispanic communities.

However, it all changed in 1988, when the United States won the bid to host the 1994 event. FIFA demanded that they had to have a national league, otherwise the tournament could not happen in the country. So, the USSF agreed to create a national league in a renovated format from the NASL and it became a reality in 1993.

However, the first season only happened actually in 1996, with 10 teams divided by two conferences. The first game was between the San Jose Clash (now San Jose Earthquakes) and D. C. United, in San Jose, in the previously named Spartan Stadium.

Since then the MLS has traveled a long way, expanding until having a total of 24 teams at the moment, still divided by east and west conference.

The league has plans to have 30 teams and next season Inter Miami, owned by David Beckham and Nashville SC will join the list. In 2021 another one called Austin F.C. Plus, recently MLS announced that they will open a team in St. Louis, becoming the 28th team to join the MLS.

Who won the most number of MLS titles?

The team who won the ultimate stage of the playoffs, the MLS Cup, more times, was LA Galaxy. The current team of Zlatan Ibrahimovic, won it in 2002, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2014. Just followed by D.C. United, who won it in 1996, 1997, 1999, 2004.

The current champions are Atlanta United, who defeated the Portland Timbers 2-0 on December 2018, to achieve their first piece of silverware. The actual season will end earlier, on October 6th, with the playoffs being played in September.

Get the latest MLS news in SoccerAntenna

The MLS schedule is also available on SoccerAntenna. The regular season of the Major Soccer League began on March 2nd, 2019, and will finish on October 6th. After that, the playoffs will start on October 19th and conclude on November 10th.

This season a new format is happening. The playoffs will use single-match rounds and will include 14 teams.

In SoccerAntenna we provide all the MLS news, including the latest transfers, games and international fixtures.

Want to know who is the MLS top scorer at the moment? Here is the updated list.

Here are the 24 teams in the 2019 MLS season:

Western Conference

Colorado Rapids

Stadium: Dick’s Sporting Good Park
Capacity: 18.061
Coach: Conor Casey
Top scorer: Kein Ansu Kamara

FC Dallas

Stadium: Toyota Stadium; Frisco, Texas
Capacity: 20.500
Coach: Luchi Gonzalez
Top scorer: Jesus Ferreira

Portland Timbers

Stadium: Providence Park, Portland, Oregon
Capacity: 25.218
Coach: Giovanni Savarese
Top scorer: Brian Fernandez

Houston Dynamos

Stadium: BBVA Stadium, Houston, Texas
Capacity: 22.039
Coach: Wilmer Cabrera
Top scorer: Mauro Manotas

Sporting Kansas City

Stadium: Children’s Mercy Park, Kansas City, Kansas
Capacity: 18.467
Coach: Peter Vermes
Top scorer: Felipe Gutierrez

Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Stadium: BC Place, Vancouver, Canada
Capacity: 22.120
Coach: Marc Dos Santos
Top scorer: Fredy Montero

Real Salt Lake FC

Stadium: Rio Tinto Stadium, Sandy, Utah
Capacity: 20.213
Coach: Mike Petke
Top scorer: Albert Rusnak

Seattle Sounders FC

Stadium: CenturyLink Field, Seattle, Washington
Capacity: 37.722
Coach: Brian Schmetzer
Top scorer: Raul Ruidiaz

San Jose Earthquakes

Stadium: Avaya Stadium, San Jose, California
Capacity: 18.000
Coach: Matias Almeyda
Top scorer: Chris Wondolowski

Minnesota United FC

Stadium: Allianz Field, Saint Paul, Minnesota
Capacity: 19.400
Coach: Adrian Heath
Top scorer: Darwin Quintero

LA Galaxy

Stadium: Dignity Health Sports Park, Los Angeles, California
Capacity: 27.000
Coach: Guillermo Schelotto
Top scorer: Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Los Angeles FC

Stadium: Banc of California Stadium, Los Angeles, California
Capacity: 22.000
Coach: Bob Bradley
Top scorer: Carlos Vela

Eastern Conference

FC Cincinnati

Stadium: Nippert Stadium, Cincinnati, Ohio
Capacity: 33.000
Coach: Ron Jans
Top Scorer: Allan Cruz

Columbus Crew SC

Stadium: Mapfre Stadium, Columbus, Ohio
Capacity: 19.968
Coach: Caleb Porter
Top scorer: Gyasi Zardes

Chicago Fire

Stadium: Seatgeek Stadium, Bridgeview, Illinois
Capacity: 20.000
Coach: Veljko Paunovic
Top scorer: CJ Sapong

Orlando City SC

Stadium: Exploria Stadium, Orlando, Florida
Capacity: 25.500
Coach: James O’Connor
Top scorer: Luis Almeida Nani

Toronto FC

Stadium: BMO Field, Toronto, Canada
Capacity: 30.991
Coach: Greg Vanney
Top scorers: Alejandro Pozuelo

New England Revolution

Stadium: Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, Massachusetts
Capacity: 65.878
Coach: Bruce Arena
Top scorer: Carles Gil

Montreal Impact

Stadium: Saputo Stadium, Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
Capacity: 20.801
Coach: Remi Garde
Top scorer: Saphir Taider

New York City FC

Stadium: Yankee Stadium, The Bronx, New York
Capacity: 28,743
Coach: Domenec Torrent
Top scorers: Heber dos Santos

DC United

Stadium: Audi Field, Washington, D.C.
Capacity: 20,000
Coach: Ben Olsen
Top scorer: Wayne Rooney

New York Red Bulls

Stadium: Red Bull Arena, Harrison, New Jersey
Capacity: 25.000
Coach: Chris Armas
Top scorer: Daniel Royer

Atlanta United FC

Stadium: Mercedes Benz Stadium, Atlanta, Georgia
Capacity: 42.500
Coach: Frank de Boer
Top scorer: Josef Martinez

Philadelphia Union

Stadium: Talen Energy Stadium, Chester, Pennsylvania
Capacity: 18.500
Coach: Jim Curtin
Top scorer: Kacper Przybylko

How to watch the Major Soccer League games everywhere?

If you are somewhere in the globe where you don’t have access to the MLS playoff games, you can use a VPN for watching your favorite team. Click here to know how you can use NordVPN in UAE, for example.

If you are in Australia you can watch MLS with this VPN. Check the link to know more about the best VPN provider.